Organisation & Management

The European Technology Platform on Smart Systems Integration (EPoSS Association) is an international non-profit association according to German law. The EPoSS Association was founded on 18 September 2013. Its structure consists of Board, General Assembly, Executive Committee, Working Groups and Office. Below you can find the description of the EPoSS bodies and their main functions.

EPoSS Structure



The Board guides the overall strategic development of EPoSS. It consists of one Chairperson, two Vice-Chairpersons and all together of up to 14 members who are preferably industry representatives. All members of the Board are elected by the General Assembly for a period of three calendar years. The Board´s tasks include governance of the EPoSS Association, identification of objectives, development of strategies and supervision of the activities of the Executive Committee and the Office.

Chairman of the EPoSS e. V.:

Dr. Stefan Finkbeiner
General Manager & CEO
Bosch Sensortec GmbH
Gerhard-Kindler-Strasse 9
72770 Reutlingen - Germany

Stefan Finkbeiner, EPoSS Chairman, Bosch Sensortec GmbH

Dr. Stefan Finkbeiner joined Robert Bosch GmbH in 1995 and has been working for more than 17 years in different positions related to the research, development, manufacturing, and marketing of sensors. Senior positions at Bosch have included Director of Marketing for sensors, Director of Corporate Research in microsystems technology and Vice President of Engineering for sensors. Dr. Stefan Finkbeiner was appointed as CEO of Bosch Sensortec in 2012.

Vice-Chairmen of the EPoSS e. V.:

Renzo Dal Molin
Cairdac SAS
1 Mail du Professeur Georges Mathé

94800 Villejuif - France

Dr. Wolfgang Dettmann
Director Funding Projects and Coordination
Infineon Technologies AG
Am Campeon 1-12

85579 Neubiberg - Germany

General Assembly


The General Assembly consists of the delegates appointed by the members of the Association. It elects the members of the Board, adopts resolutions and approves objectives and strategies of the Association.

Executive Committee


The Executive Committee is responsible for internal coordination and overall day-to-day management and communication of the Association. It has a key role in assisting the Board, proposing initiatives and developing operational mechanisms. It puts concepts and strategies into practice and assures the quality of decisions. It provides an operational link to the European Commission, other public authorities, and to the working groups, with the aim of establishing an innovation framework in Smart Systems Integration for companies in Europe. It also contributes to policy development by providing advice on and representing key issues that affect the development and innovation potential of Smart Systems. The Executive Committee is constituted by delegates of the member organisations.

Chairman of the Executive Committee:

Albrecht Donat
Siemens AG
Corporate Technology
Research In Energy and Electronics
Electronics and Mechatronics
Guenther-Scharowsky-Str. 1
91058 Erlangen - Germany

Albrecht Donat



The Office facilitates the processes of the EPoSS Association and provides management, administration and communication services. The Office supports the Board, the Executive Committee, the Working Groups and the General Assembly in all operational matters.

It is acting as an information and communication centre for the technology platform, including the maintenance of a dedicated website. The handling of all financial matters pertaining to the operations of the platform also falls under the responsibility of the EPoSS Office.

The Office organises annual events which provide the means to interact with all stakeholders in the platform and beyond, to ensure shared ownership and a common vision.

The EPoSS Office is hosted by VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH.

EPoSS e.V.
European Technology Platform on Smart Systems Integration
Steinplatz 1
10623 Berlin

Tel. +49 30 310078-155
Fax +49 30 310078-225


EPoSS Office


Working Groups


A number of expert Working Groups have been created as the operational elements in EPoSS. Working Groups are established for specific tasks by the Board and the Executive Committee. Each working group is chaired by an industry representative from the Executive Committee and involves representatives of industry, public research, and universities which are deeply involved in the targeted field of the respective Working Group. Working Groups develop long-term visions and implement corresponding roadmaps on Smart Systems Technologies in various application areas.

EPoSS Working Groups